Deer Island Thorofare Light

Photo Credit: Jeremy D'Entremont

Deer Island Thorofare Light

This 25-foot square tower was built in 1857 in a busy waterway in the 19th century because of the granite quarries in the area. The island was purchased for $175 from a private owner.

An explosion and fire destroyed the keeper's house in 1958. The Coast Guard removed all of the building except the tower. The lighthouse is now maintained by the Island Heritage Trust.

It can be viewed from the southern shore of Stonington on Sand Beach Road or by boat or by air.  Visit the Deer Isle Lighthouse Trail website for all the details on the lighthouse and where to get your lighthouse passport stamped. 

Location: Mark Island, Stonington

More on the town of Stonington

East Penobscot Bay Region

Related Stories
31
Events
06/25/2017
A scenic two country marathon and half marathon linking the USA and Canada and attracting runners…
07/02/2017
Nervous Nellie's Jams and Jellies is a self-directed experience of art, jams & chutneys produced…
View All